We use cookies to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We may also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners. Read more about our Privacy Policy.

I got it!


Mr Alan Winfield

Professor and Roboethicist, Bristol Robotics Laboratory.

Alan Winfield is Professor of Robot Ethics at the University of the West of England (UWE), Bristol, UK, and Visiting Professor at the University of York. He received his PhD in Digital Communications from the University of Hull in 1984, then co-founded and led APD Communications Ltd until taking-up appointment at UWE, Bristol in 1991. Winfield co-founded the Bristol Robotics Laboratory and his research is focussed on understanding the nature and limits of robot intelligence. He is a member of the editorial boards of Swarm Intelligence and the Journal of Experimental and Theoretical Artificial Intelligence, and an associate editor of Evolutionary Robotics.

Winfield is passionate about communicating research and ideas in science, engineering and technology; he led UK wide EPSRC public engagement project Walking with Robots, awarded the 2010 Royal Academy of Engineering Rooke medal for public promotion of engineering. He is an advocate for robot ethics; he was co-organiser and member of the 2010 EPSRC/AHRC working group that drafted the Principles of Robotics, and currently co-chairs the General Principles committee for the IEEE global initiative on ethical considerations in autonomous systems. Winfield has published over 200 works, including ‘Robotics: A Very Short Introduction’ (Oxford University Press, 2012), and lectures widely on robotics (including robot ethics) presenting to both academic and public audiences.

Similar Speakers

Mr Jeroen van den Hoven
Professor of Ethics and Technology


Mr Jérôme Perrin
VP Scientific Director


Mr Andrus Ansip | A biography and photo for Commissioner Andrus Ansip to follow 
Vice-President for the Digital Single Market (Tentative Key-Note)


Mr John C Havens
Executive Director


Mr Paul Nemitz
Director for Fundamental Rights and Union Citizenship, DG Justice


Mr Nikolaos Mavridis
Founder and Director


Mr Angel Adell
Director general


Ms Mady Delvaux
Member European Parliament


Ms Joanna Bryson
Reader, Department of Computer Science


Mr Giovanni Buttarelli
Supervisor (Key-Note Speech)


Sponsors in Unclassified

Register for free to access the Speakers Directory

Search by policy area and keyword 3230 professional speakers from Europe and beyond